How I became a bad fiction writer

maloki
3 min readNov 9, 2021

While I’ve always been a writer, only recently have I dared labeled myself as such, after spending years of fear, and slowly starting to dismantle those layers, I decided that it was okay to call myself a writer. Because all you need to do to be a writer is to write, and I wanted to write. So, I began putting into practice to write, or ponder about writing, and here I stand before you today, a writer.

a woman presenting person, sitting by a desk with a pen in their hand
writing person

Isn’t that a bit self-deprecating, a bit negative to call yourself a bad (fiction) writer? Well, yes, probably. The problem for me is generally, I don’t feel like I can make up stories, I can not draw from nothing, which I hope to be able to elaborate on here. Any time I want to write fiction, I always pull something out from within me, it’s never entirely fictional. It’s always a piece of me that wants to come out, and it’s something that’s either been bothering me or that I’d like to play around with.

Now you might say, but all fiction writers draw from themselves, from experiences, from other’s writing, they may not know it but they are. That’s why characters may seem to be people in real life, and therefore need a disclaimer at the beginning of the book, but they take on a life of their own as you write, and become someone else. And you’re right. That’s how it is, and I think that’s how it is for me too, but that’s even more why I feel like I’m a bad fiction…

--

--

maloki

I write passionately about things like ADHD, Mental Health, Mastodon, and Games. You can support me by donating to my GoFundMe https://gofund.me/39b69b10